Wyoming Library Association (WLA) Awards/Grants Committee 2019 Annual Report

COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Jeff Collins, 2017-2019 (Chair), <u>icollins@lclsonline.org</u>
Kim Larson, 2019-2021, <u>klarson@sweetwaterlibraries.com</u>
Susan Mark, 2019-2021, <u>susan.mark@wyo.gov</u>
Betsy O'Neil, 2019-2021, <u>boneil@natronacountylibrary.org</u>

Kennedy Penn-O'Toole, 2017-2019, kpennotoole@albanycountylibrary.org

ACTIVITIES AND ACCOMPLISHMENTS

The committee met during Spring 2019 via teleconference and email. The deadline for award nominations was May 31, 2019. The deadline for the grant nomination was June 15, 2019. The winners are scheduled to be announced at the WLA Awards Reception at the WLA Annual Conference in August 2019. All meeting agendas, notes, and other committee documents are available in Google Drive.

CHANGES TO AWARDS

The committee made no changes to awards this year.

Awards/Grants

Outstanding Heroine Award

This award provides an opportunity for WLA to recognize an outstanding person or group, whose hard work has made a difference to a Wyoming library within the last two years.

2019 WINNER: Dolleen Grobe (Ten Sleep Branch Library, Washakie County Library System)

Outstanding Librarian Award

This award is meant to, above all, recognize and especially honor the significant and outstanding accomplishments set forth by a library employee in the past year, such as service to library patrons, and the library community that this individual is a part of. It is also meant to reflect the goals of WLA and the library professional, as a whole.

2019 WINNER: Devin Hodgins (Crest Hill Elementary, Natrona County School District)

Outstanding Library Award

For a significant special project completed within the last two years. The staff, library board and the community or people served shall all be involved in the work for which recognition is sought.

2019 WINNER: Laramie County Community College Ludden Library & Learning Commons

Nora Van Burgh Grant

Funding assistance to those who wish to enhance their effectiveness as library employees through additional educational experience.

2019 WINNER:

\$250 Melissa Haderlie (Star Valley Branch Library, Lincoln County Library District)

\$250 Melissa Snider (Munger Mountain Elementary School, Teton County School District) \$250 Angela Rader (Campbell County Public Library) \$250 Judi Boyce (Sublette County Libraries - Pinedale)

Respectfully submitted by Jeff Collins on behalf of the WLA Awards/Grant Committee, July 1, 2019.