# Wyoming Library Association (WLA) Awards/Grants Committee 2023 Annual Report

## **COMMITTEE MEMBERS**

Travis Pollok (Co-Chair), 2022-2024, <a href="mailto:travis.pollok@wyo.gov">travis.pollok@wyo.gov</a>
Nicholle Gerharter (Co-Chair), 2021-2023, <a href="mailto:ngerharter@parkcountylibrary.org">ngerharter@parkcountylibrary.org</a>
Chelsie Troutman, 2022-2024, <a href="mailto:ctroutman@natronacountylibrary.org">ctroutman@natronacountylibrary.org</a>
Libby Ngo, 2022-2024, <a href="mailto:libbyngo@caspercollege.edu">libbyngo@caspercollege.edu</a>
Alan Vaughn, 2022-2024, <a href="mailto:avaughn@sweetwaterlibraries.com">avaughn@sweetwaterlibraries.com</a>
Angela Wolff, 2023-2025, <a href="mailto:awolff@lclsonline.org">awolff@lclsonline.org</a>

## **ACTIVITIES AND ACCOMPLISHMENTS**

The committee met virtually throughout 2023, beginning in February after Angela Wolff stepped down as Committee Chair. Travis Pollok and Nicholle Gerharter were appointed as Co-Chairs. The deadline for award and grant nominations was July 31, 2023. The committee met virtually to decide on the winners and grant recipients on August 17, 2023. The winners, nominators, and grant recipients were contacted the week of August 21, 2023.

Starting in February 2023, the committee began accepting nominations for the Debbie Iverson MPLA Scholarship Grant. The deadline for grant applications was April 1, 2023. The committee met virtually on April 6, 2023, to discuss the grant applications. Grant recipients were contacted on April 10, 2023.

Nicholle Gerharter remained the committee's liaison to the Conference Planning Committee to help coordinate with the Conference Committee for the Awards Reception and presentations during the WLA Annual Conference.

## **CHANGES TO AWARDS**

The committee made a change to the WLA Hero/Heroine Award for this year. Both a Hero and Heroine award were given this year, instead of the usual combined award. This change was made as a request to the committee.

## PLANS FOR THE FUTURE

With the awarding of the Debbie Iverson MPLA Scholarship Grant this year, the committee discussed ways to financially add funding to this grant to make sure the funds are not depleted and available in the future. The Debbie Iverson grant is awarded every two years and was started in 2008. The grant does not currently have any yearly funding and relies solely on donations.

AWARDS/GRANTS Lifetime Achievement Award This award recognizes the achievements and accomplishments of a library employee throughout their library career, including service to the public and/or library community. It is also meant to reflect the goals of the Wyoming Library Association and the library profession as a whole.

2023 WINNER: Terri Lesley (Campbell County Library)

## **Outstanding Hero/Heroine Award**

This award provides an opportunity for WLA to recognize an outstanding person or group whose hard work has made a difference to a Wyoming library within the last two years.

2023 WINNERS: Conrrado Saldivar (Natrona County Library)

Caitlin White (Albany County Public Library)

## **Outstanding Librarian Award**

This award recognizes the significant and outstanding accomplishments of a library employee in the past year, including service to the public and/or library community. It is also meant to reflect the goals of WLA and the library profession as a whole.

2023 WINNER: Shelley Hunsaker (Lincoln County School District #2)

## **Outstanding Library Award**

This award recognizes a significant special project completed within the last two years. The staff, library board, community, or people served must all have been involved in the work for which recognition is sought.

2023 WINNER: Big Piney Branch Library

## **Nora Van Burgh Grant**

This grant provides funding assistance to those who wish to enhance their effectiveness as library employees through additional educational experience.

2023 WINNERS: Paula Kelting (Campbell County Library) Elizabeth Palmer (Albany County Public Library)

# **Debbie Iverson MPLA Scholarship Grant**

This grant provides funding for library staff throughout the state to attend the MPLA Leadership Institute.

2023 WINNERS: **Betsy O'Neil** (Natrona County Library) **Angela Jordan** (Teton County Library)

Respectfully submitted by Travis Pollok and Nicholle Gerharter on behalf of the WLA Awards/Grants Committee, September 12, 2023.